Just As I Am – The Story Behind The Hymn

Charlotte Elliott’s brother, Rev. Elliott, was planning the building of a school for daughters of clergymen. The author was then 45 years old, ill of health, and could not help. A special program had been scheduled to help in the fund-raising.

That night she could not sleep and started doubting if she would be useful to the Lord. The next day, everyone went to the program and she was left alone.

As she thought of her weakness, she realized that since salvation was not of works, her Christian life was also to be by faith and trust, that God accepts the weakest person. And taking up her pen, she wrote this hymn of commitment.

Jesus As I Am, Without One Plea

(1) Just as I am, without one plea,
But that Thy blood was shed for me,
And that Thou biddest me come to Thee-
O Lamb of God, I come, I come!

(2) Just as I am, and waiting not
To rid my soul of one dark blot;
To Thee, whose blood can cleanse each spot,
O Lamb of God, I come, I come!

(3) Just as I am, Thou wilt receive,
Wilt welcome, pardon, cleanse, relieve;
Becuase Thy promise I believe,
O Lamb of God, I come, I come!

(4) Just as I am, Thy love unknown
Hath broken every barrier down;
Now, to be Thine, yes, Thine alone,
O Lamb of God, I come, I come!

~Just As I Am (2)
It is said that Sir Henry Norman, an Indian government official, once was converted to Christ by a remark made by Lord Rastock, while conducting a Gospel service.

After he had given a Gospel address, he announced the well-known hymn, “Just As I Am.” He added, “Those who can sing the hymn truthfully, let them sing it heartily; but those who cannot sing it truthfully, ought not to sing it at all, for it is better not to sing than to tell a lie.”

Sir Henry was soundly converted by this remark, and became a true and firm believer in the Lord Jesus Christ. He filled many high government posts, and eventually became a Field Marshall. He died in 1904, a triumphant Christian.
—Christian Victory

~Just As I Am (3)
Probably the most widely used song of consecration today is “Just As I Am.” It has been called the world’s greatest soul-winning hymn.
Its author, Charlotte Elliot, was an invalid most of her life. Many times her weakened condition caused her great lamentation. Such was the case in 1836, when her brother, H.V. Elliot, was raising funds for St. Mary’s Hall at Brighton, England, a college for the daughters of poor clergymen.

Charlotte wanted to have some little part but was hindered by reason of her infirmity. As she pondered how she could help the cause, Charlotte decided to write a poem relevant to others who were physically limited. She remembered the words of a great preacher, Caesar Malton, who had talked to her fourteen years before. He had told her to come to Jesus, just as you are.

The resulting poem was published without Charlotte’s name and was handed to her one day in leaflet form by her doctor, who did not realize that she was its author. Tears streamed down her face as she read the six verses and was told that copies of this poem were being sold and the money given to St. Mary’s Hall. Miss Elliott then realized that she had at last made a significant contribution to the building of the school through the medium of her words of faith and humility:
—Lindsay Terry

I believe you’re blessed by this hymn story, feel free to copy and use the entire text for your use, let the name of the Lord be glorified. Please kindly share this post with your friends to encourage someone. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

